Two Years!!

Hello again!I am officially the most unproductive blogger I know! It has been nearly two years since I last wrote on this blog.

Since then, I took a bit of a break from freelancing and have been working at my second love, travel. I’ve been selling holidays–and taking a few good ones myself. Perhaps more about that in a different blog.

The Last Honest Man in Havana is still a work in progress, however. I am working with my writers’ group and they are keeping me on task. We sit in a circle at our monthly meetings and they shake their heads ‘no’ at me when I take a wrong turn with this story. When I’m on track, they cheer me on. “Keep going!” is our mantra.

I’m in the final stages of the second complete draft. I dream of taking the completed manuscript to a writers’ conference in Mexico, meeting a fabulous agent and selling my work. The travel bug might be clouding my vision.

In the meantime, I’ve published a short story in Celtic Life International magazine and won a prize with the same story from the Writers Federation of Nova Scotia. Thank goodness for all the encouragement I get! All these years of work have just been a labour of love.

If you are also writing, I hope you will keep going too!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Two Years!!

  1. Kiki

    Mel – you are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

