Musical Inspiration

I thought it would be fun to share some musical inspiration I’ve had while writing The Last Honest Man in Havana. This song by Silvio Rodriguez is very well known by Cubans and is one of my favourites. I think Silvio and Rafael, my main character, are quite alike. They’re both very patriotic. This particular song, however, caused a lot of speculation in Cuba. Many believe the person he’s singing about is Fidel Castro. Silvio tells the press it’s about a woman. What else could he say??

http://www.youtube.com/v/u80ocuvZxmY?fs=1&hl=en_US

This song by Tito Gomez reminds me of the character, Mari, and her happy days dancing at the beach club in Nautico. Get up and practice your cha-cha!

http://www.youtube.com/v/V0-CpOOgOpo?fs=1&hl=en_US

Okay, here’s one more because these things are nicer in threes, aren’t they? While the news I read about Cuba often depresses me, Kelvis Ochoa’s video for Quedate always reminds me of the warmth and indomitable spirit of the Cuban people.

http://www.youtube.com/v/b8X2nURomrc?fs=1&hl=en_US

Enjoy the music!  Hope it lifts your spirits too!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

